Regimental Association of the Prince of Wales's Leinster Regiment (Royal Canadians)

HomeFeedbackContentsSearchConstitutionAbout UsLinksF A QsContacts

1900-1913 1914-1918 1919-1922

Leinster Regiment Cap Badge


1st Bn
2nd Bn
3rd Bn
4th Bn
5th Bn
Service Battalions

1st & 2nd Battalions
Regimental District: BIRR, County Offaly: Record Office Cork

Special Reserve Battalions:

  • 3rd Bn. (King's County Militia). - Birr.

  • 4th Bn. (Queen's County Militia).- Maryborough.

  • 5th Bn. (Royal Meath Militia).- Drogheda.

Colonel of the Regiment


Major General Prior, George Upton


Lieutenant - Colonels


1st Bn. White, Samuel Robert Llewellyn, D.S.O

2nd Bn. Reeve, William Tankerville Moneypenny

Majors attached to other Regiments, Special Reserve & Service Bn.

1st Bn. Rooke, George Harry John Commanding 5th Bn Royal Irish Fusiliers

2nd Bn. Craske, John. D.S.O., Commanding. 6th Battalion

1st Bn. Sharp, Albert Gerard Gavin, Commanding 7th Bn. Royal Munster Fusiliers

1st Bn. Dugan, Fra. Rogers, (Temp Lt.-Col.) commanding 7th Bn.

1st Bn. Legge, Reginald Francis, Brigade Major, 1st London Infantry Brigade


Locations on 4th August 1914

  • 1st Bn Fyzabad, India

  • 2nd Bn Cork, Ireland

  • 3rd Bn (Reserve) Birr, Ireland

  • 4th Bn (Extra Reserve) Maryborough, Ireland.

  • 5th Bn (Extra Reserve) Drogheda, Ireland

  • 6th Bn (Service) formed in Dublin, Ireland in August

  • 7th BN (Service) formed in Fermoy, Ireland in October.

Home Up Feedback Contents Search Constitution About Us Links FAQs Contacts

Send mail with questions or comments about this web site. to webadmin email address
Copyright 2006-8 Prince of Wales' Leinster Regiment Association
Last modified: 12-Apr-2008